Werth now an All Star

Phillies Werth BaseballSpringfield native and Philadelphia Phillies outfielder, Jayson Werth, is now officially an All Star.  Jay appeared in his first ever All Star game this past July  at Busch Stadium following a stellar first half of the season.

Werth was a big part of the Phillies championship team last season, and a contender for World Series MVP.  So, expectations were high for Jayson this season.  

The pressure doesn’t seem to bother Jay much as he’s embarking on a career year.  He currently  has over 20 home runs, 70 RBIs and 70 Runs. 

 Werth has been on many sports fans radar for some time with a number of special performances and beneath the surface statistics:  a 3 HR/8RBI game; stealing 2nd, 3rd and home in the same inning; leading the NL in HR off of left handed pitching in the 2008 season (15); currently leading the NL in pitches per at bat (4.50).   And, now, he has been handsomely rewarded by manager Charlie Manual with this great honor.  

“He said, ‘You’re my guy,’ ” Werth said. “When you’ve been through everything I’ve been through, and taken the road I’ve taken, to get looked in your eye by your manager and he tells you, ‘I’m taking you because you’re my guy,’ that kind of hits home and it means a lot. I’ve played for three different big-league teams, and I’ve gotten along with my managers everywhere I’ve been. But to have Charlie tell me that I’m his guy and he’s taking me with him, that’s a pretty big moment for me.”

It was also a nice feather in the cap for a loaded Phillies team who sent all 3 outfielders to the big game.   This marked the first time since 1995 that 3 outfielders from a single team were all on the All Star team.  The future looks bright for Jayson and the Philadelphia squad who many are favoring to at least win the National League.

 Jayson Werth is a member of 28 Productions which promotes Capital City Cage Wars.

NLCS Phillies Dodgers Baseball

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.